Home>Campaigns>Arango named chair of GOP chairs

Donald Trump and Jose Arango in the 1980s.

Arango named chair of GOP chairs

By David Wildstein, September 08 2020 9:17 pm

Hudson County GOP Chairman Jose Arango will again serve as the chair of the chairs – the leader of a group of 21 Republican county chairs.

Arango had served as chair of the chairs for four years before the post went to Cape May County Republican Chairman Marcus Karavan in 2018.

Karavan stepped down as county chairman rather than face a fight with his predecessor, former Superior Court Judge Michael Donohue.

Morris County Republican Chair Laura Marie Ali and Salem County Republican Chair Linda DuBois will serve as vice chairs.

Arango was one of four Republicans to win State Assembly seats from Hudson County in the 1985 Kean re-election landslide. He was elected at age 28, ousting incumbent Robert Ranieri (D-Hoboken) and his running mate, Mario Hernandez.

He lost his bid for re-election to a second term in 1987, losing to Union City Mayor Bob Menendez by 5,808 votes.

Arango currently served as the Economic Development director for Jersey City.

Albio Sires and Jose Arango, sometime in the 1980’s. Sires was the 1986 Republican nominee for Congress against Frank Guarini (D-Jersey City).
Spread the news: