Home>Highlight>Woodrow Wilson’s record remains intact

President Woodrow Wilson with the Assistant U.S. Secretary of the Navy, Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Woodrow Wilson’s record remains intact

New Jerseyan hasn’t won the presidency since 1912

By David Wildstein, January 15 2020 8:00 am

Unless John Delaney pulls off a miracle, Woodrow Wilson’s standing as the last New Jerseyan to win the presidency will remain intact.

Wilson, the governor of New Jersey, was elected president in 1912.

U.S. Senator Cory Booker dropped his bid for the Democratic presidential nomination on Monday after polling showed him unable to break out of the low single digits.

Booker was one of two Bergen County native to seek the presidency.

Delaney, a former Maryland congressman who is barely registering in polls, grew up in Wood-Ridge, attended Bergen Catholic High School, and went to college on a scholarship provided by his father’s union, IBEW Local 164.in Paramus.

Delaney ousted a Republican congressman in 2012 and gave up the seat in 2018  to seek the presidency.

In 1960, New Jersey’s delegates to the Democratic National Convention were pledged to Gov. Robert Meyner, the favorite-son candidate.  Meyner was interested in the presidency, but never formally entered the race; he had hoped that delegates might turn to him as their candidate if the convention deadlocked between John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson.

New Jersey magazine publisher Steve Forbes sough the Republican presidential nomination in 1996 and 2000. In the week following his third place finish in the 1996 New Hampshire primary, Forbes won primaries in Delaware and Arizona, but those were his only victories.

Former U.S. Senator Bill Bradley sought the Democratic nomination for president in 2000 against Vice President Al Gore.  Bradley won no primaries that year.

Gov. Chris Christie ran for president in 2016, but withdrew after a poor showing in the New Hampshire GOP primary.

Former U.S. Senator Jonathan Dayton sought the Republican presidential nomination in 1860 against Abraham Lincoln.   At the national convention in Chicago, Dayton received 14 votes on the first ballot – all from New Jersey. He lost four New Jersey delegates to Lincoln on the second ballot.  On the third ballot, New Jersey gave Lincoln eight votes, with five going to William Seward and just one holding for Dayton. Lincoln won the nomination on the third ballot.

Spread the news:


2 thoughts on “Woodrow Wilson’s record remains intact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.