Home>Congress>With no less than 80,000 uncounted ballots, Morris County races are too close to call

State Sen. Anthony M. Bucco (R-Boonton), left, and Democratic challenger Rupande Mehta.

With no less than 80,000 uncounted ballots, Morris County races are too close to call

Mehta lead over Bucco narrows since Tuesday; Democrat still leading in race for freeholder.

By David Wildstein, November 05 2020 4:40 pm

With more than 13,000 new ballots tallied in Morris County – and with no less than 80,000 votes still uncounted — contests for State Senate, Assembly and Freeholder remain too close to call.

Democrat Rupande Mehta still leads in her bid to unseat State Sen. Anthony M. Bucco (R-Boonton), but her lead has now narrowed to 426 votes – about half of what it was on Tuesday night.

Assemblywoman Aura Dunn (R-Mendham) trails Democrat Darcy Draeger by 2,001 votes – 288 less than her Election Day total.

In the race for Morris County freeholder, Democrat Cary Amaro has built a 7,617-vote lead over the Republican incumbent, Tayfun Selen.

If Amaro wins, she would become the first Democrat to win a countywide election in Morris since Douglas Romaine won a freeholder seat in the 1973 Watergate landslide.

Joe Biden could be on his way to becoming the first Democratic presidential candidate to carry Morris County since Lyndon Johnson did it against Barry Goldwater in 1964.

Biden has a 19,398-vote plurality against Donald Trump, a 57%-42% lead.  Biden’s 15-point margin has remained constant since Tuesday night, when he led Trump by 17 points.

Cory Booker also has a solid lead in Morris County – he’s 15,196 votes ahead of Republican Rik Mehta. 55.5%-43.5%.

In the Morris County portion of the 7th district congressional race, Rep. Tom Malinowski (D-Ringoes) has 696-vote lead over Republican Tom Kean, the State Senate minority leader.  Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair) leads Republican Rosemary Becchi in the Morris County towns in the 11th by 14,363 votes.

The 80,746 uncounted ballots do not include provisional ballots or late arriving mail-in ballots being delivered by the U.S. Postal Service.

The vote total is countywide, and includes portions of the 21st, 25,th, 26th, 27th and 40th legislative districts.

It’s not clear how how many of the 89,746 votes come from the 25th.

The most significant data point in this race is that the Morris County Board of Elections is counting ballots chronologically, so these numbers represent votes in the order in which they were cast.

The results for Bernardsville, the only Somerset County municipality in the 25th, remains unchanged since early Wednesday morning.

Spread the news: