Home>Campaigns>Sayegh begins 2nd term as Paterson mayor today

Paterson Mayor André Sayegh. (Photo: André Sayegh for Mayor).

Sayegh begins 2nd term as Paterson mayor today

By David Wildstein, July 01 2022 10:29 am

Paterson Mayor Andre Sayegh will be sworn in again today after becoming the first mayor in sixteen years to win a second consecutive term.

Sayegh is on a long list of potential candidates for governor in 2025, and First Lady Tammy Murphy will speak at Sayegh’s inauguration ceremony.

He easily won re-election in the May non-partisan municipal election with 48% of the vote in a five-candidate field where 37% of all voters wanted a mayor currently under indictment for election fraud and awaiting trial.

Despite a checkered history of recent Paterson mayors – Martin Barnes and Joey Torres were arrested during their terms and both went to prison – Sayegh is considered a boy scout, something that has led to his own electoral success in 2018 when he won the mayoralty on his third try.

Two city council incumbents, Dr. Lilisa Mimms and Maritza Davila, will be sworn in today after winning re-election to their at-large seats.  Newly-elected Councilman-at-Large Md Forid Uddin, who won the third seat by 538 votes, will also take office.

If Sayegh were to become governor, he would be the first Silk City mayor to win the post.  Pat Kramer, who was mayor from 1967 to 1972, Commissioner of Community Affairs from 1972 to 1974, and mayor again from 1975 until 1982, was the front-runner for the 1981 Republican gubernatorial nomination.  He wound up losing the GOP primary to former Assembly Speaker Thomas Kean, Jr. by a 31%-21% margin.

The 89-year-old Kramer is Paterson’s oldest-living mayor.  He last ran for office in the Republican wave election of 1991 and came within 1,894 votes of ousting State Sen. John Girgenti (D-Hawthorne), 53%-47%.

Spread the news: