Home>Campaigns>Sarnoski will seek 5th term as Warren commissioner

Warren County Commissioner Jason Sarnoski. (Photo: Jason Sarnoski).

Sarnoski will seek 5th term as Warren commissioner

By David Wildstein, December 08 2021 1:57 pm

Warren County Commissioner Jason Sarnoski will seek re-election to a fifth term in 2022.

“In my time as a leader in Warren County I have been a champion for the taxpayer by setting policies that have resulted in record setting tax reductions,” he said.  “I have been a constant advocate for our businesses especially during the difficult times of COVID, I have supported public safety and helped battle the opioid crisis in Warren County, and I have worked to improve our county infrastructure such as our roads, buildings, and educational institutions.”

Sarnoski was elected in 2010 after defeating Freeholder Angelo Accetturo in the GOP primary.  Accetturo had won a 2009 special election after John DiMaio left the freeholder board to take his seat in the State Assembly against Sarnoski, but then lost to him the following year.

He won three years ago with 64% of the vote against Democrat Carol Cook.

Warren County GOP Chairman Doug Steinhardt said that he will back Sarnoski for re-election, along with every Republican elected official in the county.

“Now more than ever, Warren County needs experienced leaders who can help navigate the multiple challenges that we face,” said County Commissioner James R. Kern III.  “He is an advocate for the taxpayers and a champion for small business throughout the county.”

The announcement that he’ll run for county commissioner takes Sarnoski, the Republican state committeeman from Warren, out of the race for Congress.

Sarnoski had mulled a challenge to Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff) in 2018 and raised about $76,000 before deciding not to seek the 5th district House seat.

Warren has 11,650 more Republicans than Democrats, and Republican Jack Ciattarelli carried Morris County by 11,015 votes, 64%-35% against Gov. Phil Murphy on November 2.

Democrats haven’t won a countywide election since 1997; they lost their last foothold in 2000 when now-State Sen. Michael Doherty (R-Oxford) unseated Freeholder Ann Stone.

Spread the news: