Home>Articles>Nine progressives form freeholder ticket against Hudson Democratic organization

Hudson County freeholder candidate Roger Quesada. Photo courtesy of Twitter.

Nine progressives form freeholder ticket against Hudson Democratic organization

By David Wildstein, March 31 2020 2:10 am

A full slate of progressive candidates for Hudson County freeholder filed on Monday to challenge the slate endorsed by the county Democratic organization.

It’s not immediately clear if Bernie Sanders plans to bracket with the opposition slate.  Hudson County Democratic chair Amy DeGise has not yet announced if she will award the organization line to Biden or Sanders – or possibly hold an open primary for in the presidential race.

The primary fight does put DeGise, who campaigned for county chair on her ability to open the party to its progressive wing, in a tough spot.

Hector Oseguera, an activist who is challenging Rep. Albio Sires (D-West New York) in the Democratic primary, helped assembly the freeholder slate.

DeGise has endorsed Sires, who played an integral role in her election as county chair in 2018.

All nine freeholder seats are up for grabs this fall in a county where Republicans have not won a freeholder race in 36 years.  The GOP filed just one candidate in nine district races.

While the race to win off the line in five of the nine districts is an uphill fight on a good day, the June primary represents a control election between the organization and their progressive rivals.

Hudson elects all of their freeholders from districts:

* District 1 (all of Bayonne and parts of Jersey City): Ninofhka Torres is challenging incumbent Kenneth Kopacz.

* District 2 (parts of Jersey City): Gabriella Ambroise will take on incumbent Bill O’Dea.

* District 3 (parts of Jersey City): Incumbent Jerry Walker faces Rachael O’Brien.

* District 4 (parts of Jersey City): Hudson County Democrats dumped freeholder Joel Torres and replaced him with Yraida Aponte-Lipski, the wife of former Jersey City councilman Steve Lipski.  Eleana Little will run against Apone-Lipski in the primary.

* District 5 (Hoboken and part of Jersey City): Ron Bautista is going up against incumbent Anthony “Stick” Romano.

* District 6 (Union City): Incumbent Fanny Cedeno, who won a special election convention in January to replace Tilo Rivas, the new county surrogate, faces a primary challenge from Kevin Hernandez.

* District 7 (West New York, Weehawken and Guttenberg): Incumbent Caridad Rodriguez is being challenged by Casey Timorason.

* District 8 (North Bergen and part of Secaucus): Freeholder Chairman Anthony Vainieri, Jr. faces Roger Quesada.

* District 9 (East Newark, Harrison, Kearny and part of Secaucus): Freeholder Albert Cifelli is up against Arthur Rehak.

Spread the news: