Home>Campaigns>Mironov re-elected Mercer County Democratic chair in landslide

Mercer County Democratic Chairwoman Janice Mironov. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe.)

Mironov re-elected Mercer County Democratic chair in landslide

Win comes after massive technical glitches push voting to 10 PM

By David Wildstein, July 28 2020 10:39 pm

East Windsor Mayor Janice Mironov was easily re-elected to a second term as Mercer County Democratic Chair on Tuesday night, defeating Ewing Councilman David Schroth by a vote of 261 to 115, 69%-31%.

Major  technical glitches in tonight’s vote  created a delay of more then two hours and caused some Democrats to complain that the irregularities might necessitate a new election.

Some county committee members were still waiting to vote when the system suddenly shut down shortly before 8 PM.

Mironov thanked her supporters following an announcement of the results around 10:40 PM.

“The number were very humbling,” she said.

Schroth said that he was only in the race for two weeks.

“I’m comfortable with the decision I made,” Schroth said.

He’s not certain if he will challenge the results — some of the issues with voting mirror what attorney Angelo Genova had predicted hours early in court — and said he will assess the situation later.

The race heated up a couple of weeks ago when County Executive Brian Hughes sought to delay the county chair election until 2021 when an in-person election could be held.

Mironov responded by releasing endorsements from a majority of the county’s elected officials.   She has the backing of all seven Mercer County freeholders, Sheriff Jack Kemler, State Sen. Linda Greenstein (D-Plainsboro), and five democratic assemblymen.

She also had the backing of Princeton Mayor Liz Lempert, and top Democrats in Hamilton, Lawrence Township, Hopewell Township, Hightstown, Ewing and East Windsor, Pennington and Robbinsville.

In addition to Hughes, Schroth had the support of Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-Ewing), State Sen. Shirley Turner (D-Lawrence), Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson, Trenton Mayor Reed Gusciora, Ewing Mayor Bert Steinmann, and Hopewell Borough Mayor Paul Anzano.

Samuel Frisby, a Mercer County freeholder, was re-elected vice chairman of the county Democratic organization.

Mironov was elected for the first time in 2018 after Reynolds-Jackson declined to seek re-election.

Schroth and some of his supporters went to court today in an unsuccessful bid to block tonight’s election.

This story was updated at 10:50 PM.

Spread the news: