Home>Local>Essex>Evans ousts Inman, West Ward results delayed in Irvington

Sean Evans.

Evans ousts Inman, West Ward results delayed in Irvington

Vick, Beasley easily win re-election

By Nikita Biryukov, May 12 2020 9:37 pm

Sean Evans has ousted East Ward Councilman Paul Inman, though at least two of the township’s other incumbents have won re-election.

Evans defeated Inman 312-260, while North Ward Councilman Orlander Vick scored a landslide win over two challengers, defeating Micano Evra and Eric Dixon with 284 votes.

Evra got 57 votes, and Dixon had just 34 ballots cast in his name.

East Ward Councilwoman Jamillah Beasley defeated Al-Tariq Shabazz 458-220.

Results are delayed in the West Ward, where councilman Vern Cox faces a challenge from Destin Nicolas.

The city also held races for five school board seats Tuesday.

Incumbents Audrey Lyon, Syesha Benbow and Gene Etchison defeated Conrad McPherson, their lone challenger, to win re-election.

Lyon ran in first with 996 votes. Etchison trailed not far behind with 940, and Benbow had 890 ballots cast in her name.

McPherson received just 598 votes.

Gloria Chison and Annette Beasley, also incumbents, each won an unexpired term unopposed.

Spread the news: