Home>Local>Democrats win in Milltown, Sayerville and South Amboy

Democrats win in Milltown, Sayerville and South Amboy

By Nikita Biryukov, November 07 2018 6:21 am

Democratic candidates for local office won in Milltown, Sayreville and South Amboy.

In Milltown, incumbent councilmen Randy Farkas and Nicholas Ligotti scored each scored 29% of the vote, defeating Republican Challengers Donald Hohner and Richard Moore, who got 22% and 21% of the vote, respectively.

Farkas received 1,736 votes, three more than Ligotti got. Hohner secured 1,339 votes, while 1,243 cast ballots for Moore.

In Sayreville, Democratic challengers scored relatively-narrow wins over Republican Councilman Pat Lembo and retired state worker Joel Bloom.

Kevin Dalina was the top vote-getter with 6,809 ballots cast in his favor. Damon Enriquez was second with 6,543 votes. Bloom got 5,918 votes, beating Lembo by six.

With the wins, Democrats control all six of the Council’s seats.

With 53% of the vote, South Amboy Mayor Fred Henry scored a solid with against Republican Peter “Pedro” Pisar and Brandon Russell, who got 33% and 14% of the vote, respectively.

Henry received 1,429 votes. Pisar got 885, and Russell scored 392.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Feature Right Congress Burlington
Sort by

Smith votes with Democrats on plan to end shutdown

20-term congressman was one of five Republicans to back measure
January 3, 2019 10:59 pm


Democrats take control of Burlington Freeholder Board

Youngkin resigns
January 1, 2019 4:27 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *