Home>Articles>New Jersey Citizen Action endorses Kreibich, eight incumbents

Glen Rock Councilwoman Arati Kreibich. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for the New Jersey Globe)

New Jersey Citizen Action endorses Kreibich, eight incumbents

By David Wildstein, June 25 2020 6:07 pm

New Jersey Citizen Action has endorsed eight Democratic incumbents seeking re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives, but is backing Arati Kreibich in her primary challenge against Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-Wyckoff).

One of New Jersey’s oldest and largest economic and social justice advocacy groups, New Jersey Citizen Action is affiliated with some of the state’s most influential labor unions and grassroots organizations.

“The incumbents we are endorsing today have fought against these attacks and consistently worked to hold the line to preserve vital programs like the Affordable Care Act,” said Phyllis Salowe-Kaye, the longtime New Jersey Citizens Action executive director. “The incumbents we endorsed have also advanced policies and programs that working families need like paid family leave, an increased minimum wage, access to affordable healthcare coverage, lowering the costs of prescription drugs and consumer financial protections.”

New Jersey Citizen Action is backing five incumbents who face challenges in the June 7 Democratic primary: Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-Long Branch), Albio Sires (D-West New York), Bill Pascrell (D-Paterson), Donald Payne, Jr. (D-Newark), and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-Ewing).

The endorsement of Sires comes on the same day that the New Jersey Working Families, a New Jersey Citizen Action affiliate, endorsed one of his primary opponents, Hector Oseguera.

They are also supporting the re-election of Reps. Donald Norcross (D-Camden), Andy Kim (D-Moorestown), and Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair).

Gottheimer and Rep. Tom Malinowski (D-Ringoes) are the only Democratic incumbents not to wins endorsements.  The group also didn’t take sides in Democratic primaries to pick opponents for Reps. Christopher Smith (R-Hamilton) and Jeff Van Drew (R-Dennis).

Spread the news: