Home>State Government>Tucci re-elected as Passaic Valley Sewerage chairman

Passaic County Sewerage Commission Chairman Thomas Tucci, Jr. (Photo: PVSC).

Tucci re-elected as Passaic Valley Sewerage chairman

By David Wildstein, May 02 2023 3:33 pm

Thomas Tucci, Jr. was re-elected as chairman of the Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission today, making him the longest-serving chairman since James McMahon stepped down in 1970.

The former Cedar Grove township manager became chairman in November 2015 after a four-year period where no meetings were held.  That came after Gov. Chris Christie dismantled the board and attacked a culture of mismanagement, patronage, and nepotism.   Only one commissioner, Kenneth Lucianin, was retained.

James J. McMahon holds the record at the helm of the North Jersey utility agency.  McMahon, a former Montclair town commissioner, served as the PVSC chairman for 18 years, albeit non-consecutively.   He served as chairman from 1935 to 1936, again from 1937  to 1944, and for a third tenure that spanned from 1960 to 1970.

Gov. William Cahill declined to renominate McMahon in 1970, giving his seat to the Republican mayor of Bloomfield, Walter Davis.

Spread the news: