Home>Articles>Oroho names Scrivo, Wright to legislative ethics commission

Thomas P. Scrivo. (Photo: O'Toole Scrivo).

Oroho names Scrivo, Wright to legislative ethics commission

By David Wildstein, January 21 2022 6:34 pm

Senate Minority Leader Steve Oroho (R-Franklin) has named a managing partner of one of the state’s most influential law firms to a seat on the Joint Legislative Committee on Ethical Standards.

Thomas P. Scrivo, a former chief counsel to Gov. Chris Christie, runs O’Toole Scrivo with Kevin O’Toole, the chairman of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey and a former state senator from Essex County.

Oroho also named Chester Board of Education President Kerri Wright to serve on the panel that hears ethics complaints against members of the New Jersey Legislature and legislative staff.

Scrivo and Wright will replace Dr. Frederick M. Herrmann, a former executive director of the New Jersey Election Law Enforcement Commission, and former Superior Court Judge John J. Harper.  Both had been appointed by Oroho’s predecessor, Thomas H. Kean.

Scrivo is a former chairman of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority, as vice chairman of the Essex County College Board of Trustees, and as the municipal attorney and special counsel to several New Jersey municipalities.

Wright is an attorney at Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, a top North Jersey law firm.

Senate President Nicholas Scutari and Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin have not announced their picks for the Ethics panel.

Assembly Minority Leader John DiMaio has reappointed the two ethics committee members named by his predecessor, Jon Bramnick:  Michael Mitzner and Patrick Toscano Jr.

The current chairman, former New Jersey Supreme Court Justice John E. Wallace, Jr., was named to the ethics committee by former Senate President Steve Sweeney and is not expected to be retained.

Spread the news: