Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Cape May County

The boardwalk in Ocean City, New Jersey. (Photo by Kevin Jarrett).

Where local races stand in Cape May County

By Joey Fox, November 04 2021 11:30 am

Cape May City

Incumbent Councilwoman Lorraine Baldwin was re-elected unopposed in a nonpartisan race.


Republican Committeeman Frank Germanio was re-elected without opposition to the Dennis Township Committee.


Republican Committeeman Ike Gandy defeated Democrat Quanette Vasser-McNeal 66-34% to retain his seat on the Middle Township Committee.

North Wildwood

Four Republican incumbents – Mayor Patrick Rosenello, Councilman Salvatore Zampirri, Councilman James Kane, and Councilman Joseph Rullo – were all re-elected to their posts in North Wildwood. Of the four, only Kane faced an opponent; he defeated Democrat Maria Mattera 75-25%.

Ocean City

Appointed incumbent Terrence Crowley won a nonpartisan three-way contest for a full seat on the Ocean City Council, defeating Donna Moore and Donna DeRocher 55-32-13%.

Stone Harbor

Republican Councilman Frank Dallahan and fellow Republican Bunny Parzych, who’s running for her husband’s open seat, both won an uncontested race for the Stone Harbor Council.


Three Republicans prevailed in two different races for Upper Township Council. In one six-way contest for two seats, Jay Newman and incumbent Councilwoman Kimberly Hayes each got around 29% of the vote, handily defeating their two Democratic and two Socialist opponents. In a separate race, Republican Mark Pancoast won with 52% of the vote against Democratic and Socialist opponents.

West Cape May

In a four-way race for three nonpartisan seats on the West Cape May Commission, Mayor Carol Sabo, Deputy Mayor Peter Burke, and Daniel Kurkowski defeated incumbent Commissioner John Francis.

Wildwood Crest

In a chaotic six-way race for three nonpartisan seats on the Wildwood Crest Commission, Mayor Don Cabrera (26%) and Joseph Franco (21%) have clinched two of the three seats, while Joseph Schiff (15.7%) narrowly leads incumbent Commissioner Joyce Gould (15.6%) for the third seat. Commissioner David Thompson (11%) has definitively lost re-election, and Darleen Devin (10%) came in last.


Incumbent Republican Councilmen Michael Benson and Joseph Johnson have won re-election unopposed to the Woodbine Borough Council.

Spread the news: