Home>Campaigns>Santos will seek 9th term as Kearny mayor

Kearny Mayor Alberto Santos, center, with his Town Council running mates, incumbents Marytrine Castro, Richard Konopka, Carol Jean Doyle and Gerald Ficeto. (Photo: Kearny Democrats.)

Santos will seek 9th term as Kearny mayor

By David Wildstein, April 05 2021 11:56 am

Alberto Santos, a key player in Hudson County Democratic politics, will seek re-election to a ninth term as mayor of Kearny.

The Venezuelan-born son of Portuguese parents has already the longest-serving mayor in Kearny history, breaking Joseph Healy’s record two years ago.

“Kearny is the home of an incredibly diverse community and it has been the honor and privilege of a lifetime to serve this town, Santos said. “In the past four years alone, we’ve witnessed our small but mighty community rally together to fight against injustices and help our neighbors in their time of need. Kearny is now experiencing its own rebirth and along with my running mates, we look forward to continue serving our community with honesty, integrity and compassion.”

After one year as a councilman, Santos was elected in 1999, at age 33, after Mayor Peter McIntyre declined to seek re-election.   He defeated Republican John Leadbeater, a councilman, by 1,211 votes, 55%-36%, with the rest of the votes going to independent John Campbell.

Santos was re-elected in 2001, with 77% of the vote against Republican Harold Delaney, and was unopposed in 2003.  Kearny switched to four-year mayoral terms in 2005 and since then, Santos has had just one opposed general election: he won a 2009 rematch against Leadbeater by 1,055 votes, 58%-42%.

Kearny is one of five Hudson municipalities that hold partisan elections.  It’s the last Hudson town to elect a Republican mayor in a general election; Leo Vartan won in 1993 and 1995.

Santos will run with incumbents Marytrine Castro, Richard Konopka, Carol Jean Doyle and Gerald Ficeto.

In addition to serve as mayor, Santos is the clerk of the Hudson County Board of Commissioners and the Kearny Demcoratic Municipal Chairman.

Spread the news: