Home>Articles>Morris County added to major disaster declaration list

Flooding in Manville, New Jersey on September 2, 2021. (Photo: Thomas Enters via Twitter).

Morris County added to major disaster declaration list

By Joey Fox, September 13 2021 3:15 pm

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) added Morris County on Saturday to its list of counties covered under a major disaster declaration, bringing the total number of New Jersey Counties included up to 11.

Last Sunday, in the aftermath of Hurricane Ida, six counties – Bergen, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Passaic, and Somerset – were declared major disaster areas, giving residents increased access to federal aid. After a series of assessments conducted on Tuesday and Wednesday, as well as some consternation from elected officials in excluded counties, Essex, Hudson, Mercer, and Union Counties were added on Friday, followed by Morris on Saturday.

Burlington and Monmouth Counties were also assessed last week, but neither have yet been added to the list, a possible indication that their assessments found them to be sufficiently undamaged. Nearly every North Jersey county is now represented, with the exception of Warren and Sussex Counties, both of which were spared from the worst of the storm.

Spread the news: