Home>Local>Essex>Democrats sweep in Essex

The Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders in 2020, left to right: Wayne Richardson, Carlos Pomares, Romaine Graham, Leonard Luciano, Tyshammie Cooper, Rufus Johnson, Patricia Sebold, Robert Mercado, and Brendan Gill.

Democrats sweep in Essex

By Nikita Biryukov, November 03 2020 11:12 pm

Democratic freeholders in Essex county will be re-elected Tuesday night, the New Jersey Globe projects.

At-large Democratic Freeholders Brendan Gill, Patricia Sebold, Rufus Johnson and Romaine Graham will defeat challenges from Republicans Monique Headan, Gynise Gotto, Bernarda Quezada and Alexandra Campisi.

4th District Freeholder Leonard Luciano will beat Republican challenger Adam Kraemer, and County Clerk Christopher Durkin will defeat Reapublican Kristina Christoforou.

District Freeholder Carlos Pomares (5th), Tyshammie Cooper (3rd), Wayne Richardson (1st) and Robert Mercado (1st) were unopposed.

Republicans haven’t won an at-large Essex Freeholder race since 1971.

Spread the news: