Home>Highlight>Scutari will keep Metzger as Secretary of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate Linda Metzger. (Photo: New Jersey Office of Legislative Services.)

Scutari will keep Metzger as Secretary of the Senate

Longtime legislative staffer worked for Democrats and Republicans from the 3rd district

By David Wildstein, January 10 2022 11:03 am

Linda Metzger will get another term as Secretary of the New Jersey State Senate when the upper house reorganizes on Tuesday, the New Jersey Globe has learned.

Metzger, who had been named to the administrative post in 2018 by Steve Sweeney, is the choice of the incoming Senate President, Nicholas Scutari.

The change in Senate leadership following Sweeney’s loss in November to Republican Edward Durr, won’t necessarily mean huge changes at the staff level.  Scutari has served in the Senate for 18 years and has built relationships with Senate staffers.

The Secretary of the Senate position is typically the choice of the Senate President.  After Sweeney unseated Richard Codey in 2010, he replaced Codey’s pick, former Essex County Freeholder Ellen Davenport.

Sweeney, as the Senate President-designate, had initially announced that former New Jersey Network reporter Kent St. John would become the Secretary of the Senate.   But after PolitickerNJ questioned whether St. John could sign official documents using his stage name, Sweeney announced that St. John would instead use his legal name, Kent Hicks.

After Hicks departed in 2013, Sweeney named Jennifer McQuaid to the post.  Metzger got the job following McQuaid’s retirement in May 2018.

The 74-year-old Metzger was a career 3rd legislative district staffer who has worked for legislative leaders of both parties.

Se served as an aide to State Sen. Raymond Zane (D-Woodbury) from 1983 to 1987, and then for Assemblyman Gary Stuhltrager (R-Deptford) from 1989 to 1996.   Assembly Speaker Jack Collins, who was Stuhltrager running mate, named Metzger as the Assembly Clerk in 1996; she held that post until Democrats captured control of the lower house in 2001 and Speaker Albio Sires replaced her with Christine Riebe.

Metzger worked for the South Jersey Transportation Authority before Sweeney recalled her to the Senate staff in 2013 as an administrative assistant.

The current Assembly Clerk, former Camden City Councilwoman Dana Burley, has held her post since Assembly Speaker Joseph Roberts picked her in 2006.

Spread the news: