Home>Articles>Four Morris County Commissioners back Selen for Congress

Morris County Commissioner Tayfun Selen. (Photo: Tayfun Selen).

Four Morris County Commissioners back Selen for Congress

Selen faces a crowded GOP primary in NJ-11

By David Wildstein, February 03 2022 5:44 pm

Four of Republican Commissioner Tayfun Selen’s colleagues on the Morris County Board of Commissioners – Kathy DeFillippo, John Krickus, Steve Shaw, and Deb Smith – today endorsed Selen’s campaign for the 11th congressional district.

“Republicans are fortunate to have a candidate of Tayfun Selen’s caliber stepping up for this seat,” Krickus said in a statement. “Immigrating to the U.S. the right way, Tayfun worked minimum wage jobs, moved up the corporate ladder, and built an impressive business and tax-fighting career that we can all be proud of. I’m proud to endorse him.”

Two other Republican county commissioners, Douglas Cabana and Tom Mastrangelo, both up for re-election this year, have not endorsed.

The district, currently held by Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-Montclair), grew significantly more Democratic in redistricting, but that’s not stopping a sizable field of Republicans from seeking to take Sherrill on.

In addition to Selen, former Kinnelon Council President Larry Casha, former assistant Passaic County Prosecutor Paul DeGroot, former Ridgefield Park councilman Robert Kovic, attorney Larry Friscia, and U.S. Army veteran Toby Anderson are also running for the Republican nomination. None of the seven candidates have yet raised a significant amount of money, but DeGroot got an early leg up when he received the endorsement of the Passaic County GOP last week.

Two other potentially formidable candidates, Assemblywoman Aura Dunn (R-Mendham) and Morris County Surrogate Heather Darling, are still considering whether to jump into the race.

For his part, Selen was chosen as director of the Morris County Commission for 2022; Selen has served on the board since January 2020.

Spread the news: