Home>Articles>Essex freeholder incumbents sail through primary

The Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders in 2020, left to right: Wayne Richardson, Carlos Pomares, Romaine Graham, Leonard Luciano, Tyshammie Cooper, Rufus Johnson, Patricia Sebold, Robert Mercado, and Brendan Gill.

Essex freeholder incumbents sail through primary

By Nikita Biryukov, July 07 2020 9:35 pm

Essex County Freeholder President Brendan Gill and his slate of incumbents easily won renomination over progressive primary challengers Tuesday.

Freeholders gill, Romaine Graham, Rufus Johnson and Patricia Sebold defeated challengers Sabre Burroughs, Anthony Diaz and Simone Jelks-Bandison.

They’ll face Republicans Alexandra Campisi, Gynise Gotto, Monique Headen and Bernarda Quezada in November.

District 4 Freeholder Leonard Luciano defeated challenger Jennifer Larsen. Luciano will face Republican Adam Kraemer in the general election.

District 1 Freeholder Robert Mercado, District 2 Freeholder Wayne Richardson, District 3 Freeholder Tyshammie Cooper and District 5 Freeholder Carlos Pomares ran unopposed. No Republicans filed for those seats.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Local Essex Articles Trailblazer Labor
Sort by

Essex freeholder seat goes to Irvington school board president

Romaine Greer will replace Lebby Jones, who died in January
February 6, 2019 10:39 am


Essex progressives praise freeholders’ Medicare for All resolution

Symbolic measure urges Congress to pass Medicare for All
September 10, 2020 2:31 pm


Labor Leader: John J. Giblin served as State Senator, Essex County Freeholder

Father of Assemblyman Thomas P. Giblin headed Operating Engineers Local 68
September 7, 2020 12:05 am