Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Ocean County

Brick Mayor John Ducey. (Photo: NJ Globe file photo).

Where local races stand in Ocean County

By Joey Fox, November 12 2021 12:21 pm


Republican Committeeman Pasquale “Pat” Pipi and fellow Republican William Farmer bested Democrats Martin Weber and Charles Cunliffe for two seats on the Barnegat Township Committee; each Republican received around 32% of the vote to each Democrat’s 18%.

Barnegat Light

Councilmen Ed Wellington and Michael Spark, both Republicans, won re-election to the Barnegat Light Borough Council unopposed.

Bay Head

Republican Councilmembers Diane Cornell and Dennis Shaning were re-elected unopposed to the Bay Head Borough Council.


Councilmembers Bill Cairns and Beverly Clayton, both Republicans, won re-election without opposition to the Beachwood Borough Council.

Berkeley Council

Four Republican incumbents on the Berkeley Township Council – James Byrnes, Angelo Guadagno, Michael Signorile, and Sophia Gingrich – were re-elected by large margins over Democratic opponents. Byrnes beat Alexis Loftus 76-24% in Ward 1; in Ward 2, Guadagno defeated Patrick O’Keefe 73-27%; Signorile prevailed 70-30% over Andrew Prudente in Ward 3; and in Ward 4, Gingrich beat Thomas White 68-31%.


Despite Brick’s heavy Republican lean in most races – it gave Jack Ciattarelli close to 70% of the vote last week – Democratic Mayor John Ducey was easily re-elected over Republican challenger Theresa Gallagher, 63-37%. 

But Republican Perry Albanese was elected to retiring Democratic Councilman Paul Mummolo’s seat, breaking the all-Democratic lock on the council; re-elected to the two other seats were Democratic Councilwomen Marianna Pontoriero and Heather DeJong.


Republican Committeewoman and current mayor Debra Rivas defeated Democrat Sarah Collins 75-24% to retain her seat on the Eagleswood Township Committee.

Island Heights

Councilmembers Susan Thompson, Rolf Weber, and Alan Fumo all won re-election unopposed to the Island Heights Borough Council, a nonpartisan body.


Republican Committeemen Timothy McDonald and Mark Dykoff won re-election to the Lacey Township Committee over Democrats Bill Stemmle and Stuart Feldman, 37-36-14-13%.


Councilmen Gary Lowe and James Davis, both Republicans, were re-elected to the Lakehurst Borough Council unopposed.


Republican Councilman Menashe Miller and Democratic Councilman Meir Lichtenstein each won re-election to the Lakewood Township Committee with 40% and 30% of the vote, respectively; far behind were Republican Hector Fuentes with 20% and Democrat Jimmy Esposito at 9%.


Republican Councilmembers James Borowski and Joanne Filippone defeated independent Matthew Schlosser 40-32-27% for re-election to the Lavallette Borough Council.

Little Egg Harbor

Republican Councilman Blaise Scibetta and fellow Republican Daniel Maxwell won two seats on the Little Egg Harbor Township Committee, besting Democrats Shaun Moran and Gabriel Franco; each Republican got around 34% of the vote to the Democrats’ 14%.


Appointed Mayor Robert Hudak won re-election to a full term 56-44% over challenger Robert Arace in a nonpartisan contest; Hudak’s appointed successor on the township council, Michele Zolezi, simultaneously defeated Joseph Hankins 54-46%.


Republican Councilmembers F. Bradford Batcha and Barbara Benz, alongside Democratic newcomer John Conti, won three seats on the Mantoloking Borough Council without opposition.

Ocean Township

Republican Committeewoman and current mayor Lydia Dodd defeated Democrat Ann Hopkins 73-27% for re-election to the Ocean Township Committee.

Ocean Gate

Councilmembers David Kendrick and Laura Padham-Iaria, both Republicans, were re-elected to the Ocean Gate Borough Council unopposed.

Pine Beach

Republican Councilman James Saxton and fellow Republican James Keesling won two seats on the Pine Beach Borough Council without opposition.


Republicans Thomas Calabrese and Dominick Cuozzo won their first terms on the Plumsted Township Committee unopposed.

Point Pleasant

Councilmembers Bill Borowski and Toni DePaola, both Republicans, won re-election to the Point Pleasant Borough Council over Democrats Wayne Martiak and Derek Reichenbecher, 36-35-15-14%; fellow Republican Councilwoman Valerie Coulson simultaneously won an unexpired term on the council unopposed.

Point Pleasant Beach

Republicans Rosa Crowley and Michael Ramos won two seats on the Point Pleasant Beach Borough Council, ousting independent incumbent Andy Cortes 39-38-22%.

Seaside Heights

Republican incumbents Victoria Graichen, Harry Smith, and Vito Ferrone won re-election to the Seaside Heights Borough Council; Graichen and Smith beat lone Democrat Ralph Bartone 42-40-17%, while Ferrone was unopposed for an unexpired term.

Seaside Park

Republicans Martin Wilk and Karen Kroon won two seats on the Seaside Park Borough Council unopposed.

Ship Bottom

Councilmen Peter Rossi and Joseph Valyo won re-election to the Ship Bottom Borough Council without opposition.

South Toms River

Republican Councilman Sam Fennell and fellow Republican Oscar Cradle won two seats on the South Toms River Borough Council with 30% and 32% of the vote, respectively; Democrat Robert Hailey came in third and incumbent Democratic Councilman Robert Taylor came in last, both with around 19% of the vote.


Republican Mayor Gregory Myrhe won re-election 72-28% over Democrat Joanne Sitek, while six fellow Republicans – Councilmen Thomas Steadman, Anthony Guariglia, Robert Henken, and Paul Krier alongside newcomers Lisa Mower and Amy Otte – defeated four Democrats for six seats on the Stafford Township Council.

Surf City

Councilmen John Klose and James Russell, both Republicans, were re-elected to the Surf City Borough Council unopposed.

Toms River

Four Republicans, three of them newcomers, won seats on the Toms River Township Council. In Ward 1, Justin Lamb – who defeated incumbent Councilwoman Maria Maruca in the Republican primary – beat Democrat Michele Williams 72-28%; Ward 2 Councilman Daniel Rodrick defeated Democrat Jeff Horn 69-31%; in Ward 3, James Quinlisk beat Democrat Karin Sage 67-33%; and in Ward 4, the closest race in the township, David Ciccozzi unseated incumbent Democrat Terrance Turnbach 57-43%.


Republican Councilmen Frank D’Amore and Ron Peterson won re-election to the Tuckerton Borough Council unopposed.

Spread the news: