Home>Articles>Where local races stand in Hudson County

Hoboken Mayor Ravi Bhalla. (Photo: Nikita Biryukov for the New Jersey Globe).

Where local races stand in Hudson County

By Joey Fox, November 05 2021 11:40 am

East Newark

Democratic Councilmembers Kenneth Graham and Rose Evaristo won re-election to the East Newark Borough Council unopposed.


Guttenberg Mayor Wayne Zitt and Councilmembers Monica Fundora, John Habermann, and Richard Delafuente, all Democrats, won re-election without opposition.


Mayor Ravi Bhalla won unopposed, while his slate for city council – incumbents Emily Jabbour and Jim Doyle, plus Joe Quintero for Councilwoman Vanessa Falco’s seat – also prevailed in a nonpartisan ten-candidate field. 

Earlier this year, Doyle was briefly replaced on Bhalla’s slate by Dini Ajmani, but Ajmani dropped out to become Deputy Assistant U.S. Secretary of the Treasury for Capital Markets, and Doyle subsequently returned to the fray

Jersey City

Mayor Steven Fulop won re-election to a third term over Lewis Spears 67-32%, and his council slate was equally successful in most races.

For three at-large seats, incumbent Councilmembers Joyce Watterman and Daniel Rivera each won re-election, as did Hudson County Democratic Chair (and Fulop slate member) Amy DeGise; Councilman Rolando Lavarro, a frequent Fulop critic, came in sixth of seven candidates.

In Ward A, Councilwoman Denise Ridley defeated Kristen Zadroga-Hart 65-35%, and Ward D Councilman Yousef Saleh won against two challengers with 55%. The results were closer in Ward B, where Councilwoman Mira Prinz-Arey appears to have defeated democratic socialist Joel Brooks 52-47%; all three incumbents were members of Fulop’s slate.

But in Ward E, Fulop endorsee Jake Hudnut lost in his bid to unseat Councilman James Solomon 31-69%, and Frank Gilmore defeated Ward F Councilman Jermaine Robinson 56-33%. Finally, Ward C Councilman Richard Boggiano has been forced into a runoff with challenger Kevin Bing after leading 44-30% in the first round.


Democratic Mayor Alberto Santos and Councilmembers Marytrine De Castro, Richard Konopka, Carol Jean Doyle, and Gerald Ficeto won re-election, all of them unopposed.


Secaucus Mayor Michael Gonnelli and Councilmen Robert Constantino, Mark Dehnert, and William McKeever won re-election unopposed in nonpartisan contests.

Spread the news: