Home>Local>Essex>Verona voters pick McEvoy, Tamburro, Holland for council

Verona Mayor Jack McEvoy.

Verona voters pick McEvoy, Tamburro, Holland for council

Nochimson loses for second time in two years

By David Wildstein, May 11 2021 9:42 pm

Verona voters rejected Michael Nochimson for the second time in two years, with Jack McEvoy, Christopher Tamburro and Cynthia Holland winning four-year terms on the township council.

McEvoy is the sitting mayor and he only incumbent on the ballot this year.  Incumbents Ted Giblin and Kevin Ryan did not seek re-election.

The mayor ran a clear first, winning 1,955 votes. Tamburro was next with 1,629 votes, while Holland had 1,453 ballots cast for her.

Nochimson (1,270)  ran 31 votes ahead of Jason Hyndman (1,239).

Holland was a deputy state attorney general from 2007 to 2011, practiced law at Genova Burns from 2011 to 2015, and worked at the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities from 2015 to 2020.   Holland was the director of the BPU’s Office of Federal and Regional Policy and chaired New Jersey’s Master Plan Sustainable and Resilient Infrastructure Workgroup.  She is currently an assistant general counsel for the Atlantic City Electric Company.

A Verona High School social studies teacher, Tamburro served as an Assistant Chief of the Verona Rescue Squad and as the township’s deputy emergency management coordinator.  He is a three-term president of the Verona Education Association.

Hyndman is a partner at DeCotiis, FitzPatrick, Cole and Giblin, a politically influential North Jersey law firm.  He served as special counsel to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection in connection with multiple flood control projects.

Nochimson won a council seat in 2015, finishing first in a field of four candidates for two seats.  He and Alex Roman defeated incumbent Frank Sapienza.

He lost his re-election bid after Christine McGrath was the top vote-getter, polling 510 more votes than he did.

In May 2019, Roman was re-elected by just two votes, 743 to 841, against John Quattrocchi, a former five term school board member.   Nochimson ran 15 votes behind Quattrocchi and 17 behind Roman.

Quattrocchi and Nochimson did not seek recounts.

Verona switched to non-partisan elections in July 1987, eight months after voters approved a local charter change election.  After a random draw, three councilmen received two year terms and ran in 1989 and the other two were given terms to start in 1991.

Spread the news: