Home>Campaigns>Turner, council incumbents win re-election unopposed in Weehawken

Weehawken Mayor Richard Turner. (Photo: Richard Turner).

Turner, council incumbents win re-election unopposed in Weehawken

By Joey Fox, May 10 2022 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe projects that Weehawken Mayor Richard Turner and his slate of council incumbents – Councilmembers Robert Sosa, Carmela Silvestri-Ehret, Rosemary Lavagnino, and David Curtis – have won re-election unopposed.

Turner has been mayor of Weehawken, one of the smallest municipalities in Hudson County by both population and size, for 32 years, taking over from former Mayor Stanley Iacono in 1990 and dominating township politics ever since. The mayor, who is technically elected as an at-large councilmember, hasn’t faced a full slate of opponents since 2002.

As the mayor of a Hudson County municipality, Turner has an additional power: helping to decide who represents Weehawken in the State Assembly. Mayors in Hudson County typically have a huge amount of say in their legislative representation via the party line, and current Assemblywoman Angelica Jimenez (D-West New York) will have to convince Turner and West New York Mayor Gabe Rodriguez to keep her on the line for another term.

Spread the news: