Home>Local>Republicans win Salem Clerk post, hold majority on Freeholder board

Former Salem County Freeholder Dale Cross

Republicans win Salem Clerk post, hold majority on Freeholder board

By David Wildstein, November 06 2019 1:34 am

Republicans held on to the County Clerk post in a race that pitted two popular former freeholders against each other and retained control of the Board of Freeholders.

Dale Cross defeated Beth Timberman by 654 votes.

Former Penns Grove Mayor Ken James won 875 votes as an independent, serving as a spoiler for Timberman.

Incumbent freeholders Scott Griscom, a Republican, and Lee Ware, a Democrat, were re-elected.

Griscom was the top vote-getter with 8,380 votes, followed by Ware with 7,725.  Republican Edward Ramsey finished third with 6,963 and Democrat Warren Morgan III came in last with 6,180.

Ware has been a freeholder since October 2000, when he won a special election convention to replace his brother, Clinton Ware.

His brother, a popular high school football coach, had spent 26 years as a freeholder before resigning toward the end of his battle with Lou Gehrig’s disease.  Clinton Ware died in 2001 at age 59.

Timberman spent twelve years as a freeholder before stepping down in 2015.  Her late father, Ben Timberman, was a freeholder for 24 years.

Cross served with her on the Salem County Board of Freeholders for seven years.

Republican Gilda Gill did not seek re-election to a fifth term as county clerk.

Gill served as a municipal clerk before winning a freeholder seat in 1997.  She was elected county clerk in 1999 and re-elected three times.  In 2014, she defeated Democrat Ceil Smith, the former publisher of Today’s Sunbeam, a daily newspaper that is now part of the South Jersey Times, with 59% of the vote.

Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.