Home>Local>Essex>Essex: Vieira wins in Livingston; Dems win majorities Roseland, Millburn. Melham slate wins Belleville school board

Essex: Vieira wins in Livingston; Dems win majorities Roseland, Millburn. Melham slate wins Belleville school board

Dems easily take county seats

By Nikita Biryukov, November 05 2019 5:07 pm

Belleville School Board: Challengers backed by Belleville Mayor Michael Melham have won, beating out two incumbents and their running mate.

Gabrielle Bennett-Meany, Luis Muniz and Ralph Tunis each lead members of the Continued Progress slate by about 500 votes with 17 of 26 districts reporting.

Freeholder: Freeholder Romaine Graham easily defeated Republican challenger Adam Kraemer to win the remainder late Freeholder Lebby Jones’ unexpired term.

Graham was appointed to Jones’ seat in February following the freeholder’s death.

Register of Deeds and Mortgages: Democrat Juan Rivera, a former freeholder, easily defeated Republican Kristina Christoforou and independent Joanne Miller, earning almost 75% of the vote to secure a five-year term as register of deeds and mortgages.

Roseland Council: Democrats won a majority on Roseland’s Borough Council Tuesday.

Democrat Moose Trillo defeated Aristotle Poplizio, 707 votes to 66. Popolozio was running for retiring Councilman David Jacobs’ seat on the six-member board.

Councilman Jean Perrotti kept her seat, earning 724 to bat away a challenge from Democrat George Meleas, who won 538 votes.

Trillo’s win gives Democrats a 4-2 majority on the council.

Livingston Township Council: Incumbent Committeeman Michael Vieira defeated former Gov. Chris Christie aide Brandon Minde to secure the remainder of former Committeeman Michael Silverman’s unexpired term.

Vieira earned 2,731 votes, while Minde won 2,121.

With Vieira’s win, Democrats continue to hold a 5-0 majority on the board.

Millburn Township Committee: The race for an open seat on the all-Democratic township committee might be headed for a recount.

Republican Agnes Sym trails incumbent Dianne Eglow by just 39 votes, 1,919 to 1,880.

Democratic newcomer Richard Wasserman was the top vote-getter with 1,936 tor replace outgoing Committeeman Samuel Levy.

Republican Sharon Strickland, finished a distant fourth with 1,262 votes.

Caldwell Borough Council: Democrats won control of the borough council, taking two GOP seats.  They now have a 4-1 majority and a Democratic mayor.

Jeffrey Gates and Frances DePalma-Iozzi ousted incumbent Pasquale Capozzoli.  The second Republican candidate, Sue Ann Penna, was seeking the open seat of retiring Republican Councilman Thomas O’Donnell.




Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Congress Local Camden Morris
Sort by

Mehta wins Passaic County

GOP U.S. Senate front runner is now 11-0
February 26, 2020 8:44 pm


Holcomb wins Camden freeholder seat

Former Winslow deputy mayor replaces Shin Angulo
January 29, 2020 11:49 am


Morris Dems celebrate wins as GOP disunity rears its head

Dems picked up nine local seats last week
November 13, 2019 1:09 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *