Home>Articles>Ciattarelli heads Burlington GOP line as part names slate of county candidates

Burlington GOP Surrogate candidate Deborah Buzby-Cope, left, and County Commissioner candidates John Adams. Photi: Burlington County Republican Committee.)

Ciattarelli heads Burlington GOP line as part names slate of county candidates

By David Wildstein, March 13 2021 1:54 pm

Burlington County Republicans today formally awarded their organization line to gubernatorial candidate Jack Ciattarelli, and picked Bass River Mayor Deborah Buzby-Cope to run for Surrogate.

Surrogate was the last GOP post in a county that was run entirely by Republicans as recently as 2018.

Republican Mary Ann O’Brien resigned last year after Gov. Phil Murphy nominated her to serve as a Superior Court Judge.

Democrats have elected a sheriff and county clerk, and have swept all five Board of Commissioners seats over  the last three elections.

But with President Donald Trump out of office — and with Ciattarelli at the top of the ticket, Republicans think they can fight back.

“Burlington County Republicans are ready to make Phil Murphy one-and-done in ‘21 by backing Jack Ciattarelli for governor,” said Burlington County Republican Committee Chairman Sean Earlen. “I’m confident our full slate of outstanding candidates up and down the ballot will bring Republican victories at the state, county and local level.”

The GOP will run former Eastampton Councilman John Adams and Al Pallanti of Evesham will run for freeholder against incumbents Dan O’Connell and  Felicia Hopson.

In addition to running Assemblywoman Jean Stanfield (R-Westampton) for State Senate, and Hammonton Councilman Michael Torrissi, Jr. and Lumberton Administrator Brandon Umba for Assembly, the Burlington GOP backed: John Foley for Senate, and Edwin Farmer and Richard Super for Assembly in the 6th district, and GOP incumbents in the 9th and 12th.

Republicans have not yet settled on candidates to take on State Sen. Troy Singleton (D-Delran), Assemblyman Herb Conaway (D-Delaran) and Assemblywoman Carol Murphy (D-Mount Laurel) in the 7th.

Spread the news: