Home>Articles>Cabana, Myers win Morris GOP primary; third seat too close to call

Former Morris County Freeholder Christine Myers.

Cabana, Myers win Morris GOP primary; third seat too close to call

Neibart had party line, but incumbent Mastrangelo continued running

By Joey Fox and George Christopher, June 08 2022 12:47 am

The New Jersey Globe projects that two line-backed candidates for Morris County commissioner, incumbent Commissioner Doug Cabana and former Freeholder Christine Myers, have won spots in the November general election. The third seat, meanwhile, is too close to call between Mendham Committeewoman Sarah Neibart, who has the party line, and incumbent Commissioner Tom Mastrangelo.

As of 12:47 a.m., Cabana and Myers were well in front with 21,061 and 19,104 votes, respectively; Mastrangelo led Neibart for the third spot 15,334 to 14,410, a margin of 924 votes. A fifth unknown candidate, Joseph Coppola, was in last with 11,559. It’s not clear what votes are still outstanding.

Mastrangelo was unexpectedly booted from the party line at the Morris County GOP convention in March, but he continued his campaign anyways, focusing on a “drag queen story hour” Neibart promoted last year when she was mayor.

The winners, once they’re determined, will take on Democrats T.C. McCourt, Judith Hernandez, and Alicia Sharma in the general election. The county board of commissioners currently has a 7-0 Republican majority.

Morris County Sheriff Jim Gannon, meanwhile, was unopposed in the Republican primary, and no Democrats filed to run against him in November.

Spread the news: