Home>Local>Bergen>Amaro seeks to end 47-year GOP winning streak

Cary Amaro

Amaro seeks to end 47-year GOP winning streak

Morris County Democrat making second bid for freeholder seat

By David Wildstein, March 25 2020 8:34 pm

Cary Amaro will make her second bid for Morris County freeholder, seeking to break a 47-year streak of only Republicans winning countywide elections.

She will challenge incumbent Tayfun Selen, a former Chatham Township mayor who won a special election convention for freeholder in February.  He filled the seat of Heather Darling, who resigned to become the Morris County surrogate.

Morris County Republicans expect Selen to have an unobstructed path to the Republican nomination, but that won’t be clear until the filing deadline at 4 PM on Monday.

Amaro finished fifth in a field of six candidates for three freeholder seats in 2019, finishing 13,267 votes behind incumbent Kathy DeFillippo.

The last Democrat to win a countywide race in Morris was Douglas Romaine, who won a freeholder seat in the 1973 Watergate landslide.

Since then, Democrats have won countywide races in New Jersey’s six all-Republican counties: Ocean, Monmouth, Cape May, Hunterdon, Sussex and Warren.

The longest streak without a countywide election loss by a political party are Hudson County Democrats.  Republicans haven’t won a countywide race since 1956, although they took two district freeholder seats in 1984.

Republicans last won countywide races in Camden and Middlesex in 1991, Union in 1995, Essex in 1998, and Mercer in 2000.

Spread the news: