Home>Campaigns>Union County Dems pick Graner and Weber to run for Assembly in 21st; Hall wins first vote in 28th

Bernards Township Democratic Municipal Chair Elizabeth Graner. (Photo: Facebook.)

Union County Dems pick Graner and Weber to run for Assembly in 21st; Hall wins first vote in 28th

So far, no Democrat in the race against Bramnick

By David Wildstein, March 05 2023 10:26 am

Springfield Township Committeeman Chris Weber and Bernards Township Democratic Municipal Chairman Elizabeth Graner will challenge Assemblywomen Nancy Munoz (R-Summit) and Michele Matsikoudis (R-New Providence) in the 21st district.

Two two were awarded the organization line in Union County this morning.

This is a rematch for Graner, a Rahway public school teacher and local teacher’s union leader, who lost to Munoz and Matsikoudis by 4,350 votes in 2021. 

Democrats still don’t have a candidate to take on State Sen. Jon Bramnick (R-Westfield).  A former Assembly Minority Leader, Bramnick moved to the Senate two years ago in an eight-point victory over Roselle Park Mayor Joseph Signorello. 

With Hillside now in the 28th district, Deputy Essex County Clerk Garnet Hall has won the Union County Democratic organization line to run for the open State Assembly seat being vacated by retiring Assemblywoman Mila Jasey (D-Maplewood).  Hall is reportedly the choice of Essex County Democrats but has not formally announced her candidacy.

State Sen. Renee Burgess (D-Irvington) and Assemblywoman Cleopatra Tucker (D-Newark) will also have party support in Union County for re-election in the 28th.

Senate President Nicholas Scutari (D-Linden), the Union County Democratic Chairman, will seek his seventh term in the Senate.  Two Assembly incumbents, James Kennedy (D-Rahway) and Linda Carter (D-Plainfield), will join him on the line in the 22nd district.

In the 20th district, State Sen. Joseph Cryan (D-Union), Assembly Majority Conference Leader Annette Quijano (D-Elizabeth) and Assemblyman Reginald Atkins (D-Roselle) will have party support for their re-election campaigns. 

For county commissioner, Democrats picked incumbents Lourdes Leon and Joe Bodek, along with Union Township Committeewoman Michele Delisort to run on the line.  Delisort will replace Angela Garretson, who is not seeking re-election.

“We truly have an exemplary team of County officials. They became a model for the

state during COVID and their dedicated service to County residents is bolstered by their

consistent fiscal responsibility, Scutari said.  “They have delivered 0% tax increases for three years in a row.”

Scutari said the dynamic and diverse team”  represents Democratic values in Union County.

“Our unity is our strength and we are consistently putting forward high-quality candidates that are winning elections and serving as effective leaders and legislators,” he said.  “I’m thrilled with the team we’ve been able to put together.”

Spread the news: