Home>Campaigns>Smith, Danielsen, Egan win in the 17th district

Assemblyman Joseph Egan. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Smith, Danielsen, Egan win in the 17th district

By Joey Fox, November 02 2021 8:01 pm

The New Jersey Globe is projecting that State Sen. Bob Smith (D-Piscataway), Assemblyman Joe Danielsen (D-Franklin), and Assemblyman Joseph Egan (D-New Brunswick) have won re-election to the 17th legislative district.

They beat attorney James Abate, Rutgers ESL instructor Catherine Barrier, and attorney Peter Gabra, respectively, in a district that’s never elected a Republican to the legislature since its creation.

Covering New Brunswick and other highly diverse Middlesex County municipalities, the district is nevertheless one of only two in the state to have an all-white, all-male Democratic delegation. Smith has served in the legislature since 1986 and Egan is 83 years old, however, so it may only be one or two cycles more before that changes.

Compared to his counterparts, Danielsen is a relative newcomer, arriving in the Assembly in 2015. He succeeded Assemblyman Upendra Chivukula (D-Franklin), who now serves on the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities.

Final 17th district results:

Smith 69.1% // Abate 30.9%

Egan 34.8%, Danielsen 34.2% // Barrier 15.7%, Gabra 15.3%

Spread the news: