Home>Articles>Local Republicans will fill Eulner, Matsikoudis council seats

New Providence Councilwoman Michele Matsikoudis. (Photo: Michele Matsikoudis).

Local Republicans will fill Eulner, Matsikoudis council seats

McCarthy-Patrick, Flynn, Torrissi gave up local offices to run for the State Assembly

By David Wildstein, November 15 2021 12:01 am

The New Jersey legislative elections will trigger a small number of appointments and special elections after January 11, following the resignation of local elected posts to obviate any violation of the state’s dual-officeholding ban.

Republican Kimberly Eulner, who won a State Assembly seat in the 11th district, will need to resign her seat on the Shrewsbury Borough Council.

The local Republican county committee will need to submit three names to the borough council, who can pick one of them.  If they don’t select someone in 30 days, the vacancy would be filled by the county committee.

Either way, there will be a special election in November 2022 to fill the remaining thirteen months of Eulner’s term, which expires at the end of 2023.   This is a likely hold for the GOP, which holds all six borough council seats.

Assemblywoman-elect Michele Matsikoudis (R-New Providence) will also need to resign her borough council seat before she is sworn in to the legislature in January.  The process to fill the vacancy is the same as it is in Shrewsbury, with the genesis of the replacement resting with the New Providence Republican County Committee.

Since Matsikoudis’ term is up in 2022, there will be no special election.

Three other incoming freshmen gave up their current offices to run for Assembly.

Assemblywoman-elect Bethanne McCarthy-Patrick (R-Mannington) did not seek re-election to the Mannington Board of Education.  She had won a three-year term in 2018 with 14 write-in votes after no candidate filed for a second school board seat.  McCarthy-Patrick defeated Democratic incumbents John Burzichelli (D-Paulsboro) and Adam Taliaferro (D-Woolwich) on November 2.

In the 13th district, Assemblywoman-elect Vicky Flynn (R-Holmdel) defeated two-term incumbent Serena DiMaso (R-Holmdel) in the June Republican primary.  As a result, she did seek re-election to her seat on the Holmdel Board of Education.

The terms of McCarthy-Patrick and Flynn will expire before the Assembly reorganizes on January 11.

Michael Torrissi, Jr. (R-Hammonton), the assemblyman-elect from the 8th district, did not seek re-election to the Hammonton Town Council in 2020 in order to focus on his bid for the legislature.  Another Hammonton councilman, Joseph Giralo, didn’t run again this year and instead was elected Atlantic County Clerk.

Four of the five new state senators who will take office in January gave up their Assembly seat to run for the upper house: Jon Bramnick (R-Westfield), Gordon Johnson (D-Englewood), Jean Stanfield (R-Westampton), and Andrew Zwicker (D-South Brunswick).    State Sen.-elect Edward Durr (R-Swedesboro) has never held public office, and Vincent Polistina (R-Egg Harbor Township), a former assemblyman, was sworn into the Senate last week.

Spread the news: