Home>Highlight>Johnson, Zwicker get Budget & Appropriations Committee seats

State Sen. Andrew Zwicker. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Johnson, Zwicker get Budget & Appropriations Committee seats

Cryan is new Senate Military and Veterans Affairs chairman

By David Wildstein, January 12 2022 4:04 pm

Two freshman state senators, Gordon Johnson (D-Englewood) and Andrew Zwicker (D-South Brunswick), have secured seats on the influential Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee.

Paul Sarlo (D-Wood-Ridge) continues as the longest-serving Budget and Appropriations chairman in state history; he’s held that post since 2010.  Declan O’Scanlon (R-Little Silver) will become the new Republican Budget Officer.  That’s the post previously held by Steve Oroho (R-Franklin), the new Senate Minority Leader.

Democrats have an 8-4 majority on the panel.  Johnson and Zwicker replace Dawn Addiego (D-Evesham), who lost her bid for re-election, and Troy Singleton (D-Delran), who is now the Assistant Senate Majority Leader.

Eight other senators – five Democrats and three Republicans – will return to the committee this year.

Senate President Nicholas Scuatri has named four new committee chairmen:  Vin Gopal (D-Long Branch) at Education, a post previously held by Teresa Ruiz (D-Newark), the new Majority Leader; Joseph Cryan (D-Union) succeeding Gopal at Military and Veterans Affairs; Brian P. Stack (D-Union City) replaces Scuatri at Judiciary; and Richard Codey at Legislative Oversight, a panel that Stack had chaired.

In addition to Budget and Appropriations, Johnson will be on the Commerce Committee and the Transportation Committee, and Zwicker has seats on three other committees: Higher Education; Labor; and Military and Veterans Affairs.

Three freshman GOP senators who took office on Tuesday also received their committee assignments:

* Jon Bramnick (R-Westfield), the former Assembly Minority Leader, was given seats on the Judiciary Committee and the Commerce Committee.

* Edward R. Durr (R-Swedesboro), who defeated Senate President Steve Sweeny in 2021, has been assigned to the Environment and Energy Committee and the Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens Committee.

* Jean Stanfield (R-Westhampton) was assigned to the Environment and Energy Committee and the Law and Public Safety Committee.

Spread the news: