Home>Governor>Murphy administration suggests 17 women to serve on Weinberg panel

Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg. (Photo: Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe)

Murphy administration suggests 17 women to serve on Weinberg panel

Senate Majority Leader committee seeking solutions to toxic work environments for women in NJ politics

By David Wildstein, January 08 2020 11:53 am

Gov. Phil Murphy’s administration is recommending seventeen women to serve on a committee formed by Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg to seek solutions to toxic work environments for women in governmental and political organizations.

Weinberg formed the panel following a Star-Ledger report detailing instances of sexual harassment and assault.

“The Governor was appalled – as was I – at the behavior described in the story and we are committed to doing what it takes to change the toxic culture of abuse and entitlement that has been allowed to exist across decades,” said Lt. Gov. Sheila Oliver in a letter sent to Weinberg this morning.  “The perpetrators and the survivors are not limited to a single political party nor a single branch of government. Deep reforms are needed across government and the political landscape.”

Oliver said that the administration “stands ready to work with you to change this culture and create a safe, welcoming, and empowering workplace environment in New Jersey.”

The candidates proposed by the Murphy administration include First Lady Tammy Murphy, several members of the governor’s cabinet and staff, labor leaders and political activists, and Oliver.

Weinberg remained non-committal on the recommendations from the governor’s office.

“I am meeting with some trusted advisors to lay out a game plan for where we go from here,” Weinberg told the New Jersey Globe.  “I appreciate everyone’s interest and we’ve had many reach outs.”

Included in the list of referrals from Murphy’s office: New Jersey Education Association President Marie Blistan; CWA NJ State Director Hetty Rosenstein; Murphy deputy chief of staff Deb Cornavaca and deputy chief counsel Kate McDonnell; Action Together New Jersey Executive Director Uyen “Winn” Khuong; Port Authority of New York and New Jersey executive Jenny Davis Toth; political leader Patricia Campos-Medina; Democratic State Committee Treasurer Kelly Stewart Maer; Essex County Democratic State Committeewoman Alixon Collazos; State Treasurer Elizabeth Muoio; Civil Service Commission chair and CEO Deirdre Webster Cobb; author Lizzie Foley; New Jersey Black Issues Convention State Chair Reva Foster; acting director of the Division of Women at the Department of Children and Families Anna Martinez; and state Higher Education Secretary Zakiya Smith Ellis.

Oliver to Weinberg
Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.