Home>Congress>Mehta wins Ocean screening committee vote

Republican U.S. Senate candidate Rik Mehta

Mehta wins Ocean screening committee vote

8th straight win for GOP U.S. Senate candidate

By David Wildstein, February 15 2020 2:42 pm

U.S. Senate Rik Mehta was endorsed by the Ocean County Republican Screening Committee today, giving him a huge advantage as he seeks the county organization line at the March 4 convention.

So far, the former U.S. Food and Drug Administration official is undefeated in his pursuit of organization lines.  He’s won contests in Burlington, Camden, Hunterdon, Monmouth, Somerset and Union counties for his bid to take on incumbent Cory Booker.

Three other Republicans are seeking the Senate nomination: Hirsh Singh, Tricia Flanagan, and Natalie Rivera. Two others have already dropped out: former prosecutor Stuart Meissner, and former Monmouth County freeholder Gary Rich, who has endorsed Flanagan.

Singh had the Ocean GOP organization line when he ran for Congress in New Jersey’s 2nd district in 2018.

The fight over the Republican U.S. Senate nomination this year has sparked little interest among party leaders.

Republicans have lost sixteen consecutive Senate races since their last victory in 1972.  Only Hawaii has gone longer than New Jersey in electing a Republican to the United States Senate.

Still, two of the five living former U.S. Senators from New Jersey are Republicans.

Nicholas Brady was appointed in 1982 following the resignation of Harrison Williams and Jeff Chiesa after the death of Frank Lautenberg.  Neither sought election to the office.

The other living former New Jersey senators: Bill Bradley, Bob Torricelli and Jon Corzine.

Spread the news:
Filter by
Post Page
Highlight Congress Campaigns Morris Legislature
Sort by

Flanagan, Rogers endorse Mehta

August 13, 2020 4:09 pm


Mehta certified as winner of GOP U.S. Senate primary

Way certifies Onuoha as GOP challenger to Pallone in NJ-6
August 10, 2020 10:19 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *