Home>Congress>Governor, dozens of officials, denounce Lance

Governor, dozens of officials, denounce Lance

‘Tends not to believe’ could move needle in NJ-7 House race

By David Wildstein, September 28 2018 10:41 am

Rep. Leonard Lance’s “tends not to believe” comment about a woman who says U.S. Supreme Court Justice nominee Brett Kavanaugh sexually assaulted her 35 years ago could be the death knell of his already shaky re-election campaign.

Gov. Phil Murphy tops a list of nearly 70 New Jersey leaders who have signed on to a statement blasting Lance, a five-term Republican congressman who faces former Assistant U.S. Secretary of State Tom Malinowski in a race that two independent polls show to be within the margin of error.

“We find it appalling that Congressman Lance would prejudge Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and refuse to even listen to her testimony before publicly declaring that he does not believe her. Dr. Ford has shown an incredible degree of courage in coming forward to tell her story, and Congressman Lance’s unwillingness to consider her testimony shows how little respect he has for survivors of sexual assault and for all women,” the statement read.  “Congressman Lance should be ashamed of himself and he owes an apology to his constituents, to sexual assault survivors and to women all over the country who are inspired by Dr. Ford’s strength and bravery.”

Yesterday, First Lady Tammy Murphy, Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg, and Lt. Gov. Sheila Oliver beat up on Lance for his comments, which were made in a private Rutgers College Republican Club meeting and recorded.

The signers:

Governor Phil Murphy
Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman
NJDSC Chair John Currie
NJDSC Vice Chair Lizette Delgado Polanco
Union County Chair Senator Nicholas Scutari
Assemblywoman Mila Jasey
Hunterdon County Chair Arlene Quiñones Perez
Somerset County Chair Peg Schaffer
Morris County Chair Chip Robinson
Warren County Chair Tom Palmieri
Hudson County Chair Amy DeGise
Monmouth County Chair Dave Brown
Atlantic County Chair Mike Suleiman
Union County Freeholder Bette Kowalski
Fanwood Mayor Colleen Mahr
Clinton Mayor Janice Kovach
Clinton Councilwoman Rielly Karsh
Lambertville Councilwoman Elaine Warner
Lambertville Councilwoman Beth Asaro
High Bridge Councilwoman Natalie Ferry
Summit Councilwoman Marjorie Fox
Newark Council President Mildred Crump
BlueWaveNJ President Marcia Marley
New Jersey Working Families Alliance Executive Director Analilia Mejia
Women for Progress President Erin Chung
Reverend Louise Scott-Rountree
Ridgewood JOLT President Catherine Brienza
NJ 11th For Change Political Director Elizabeth Juviler
NJDSC Executive Director Liz Gilbert
Monmouth County Democrats Executive Director Kinn Badger
Paterson Deputy Mayor Jamie Bland
New Jersey Black Issues Convention President Reva Foster
Indivisible: Garden State Values Michelle Hoffmann
Indivisible Lambertville Cindi Sternfeld
Reverend Doctor Mamie Bridgeforth
Mrs. Kimberly Green
Association of Black Women Lawyers President Carolyn Chang
Action Together Executive Director Winn Khuong
Action Together Leadership from across the state:
Northeast Regional Director Anna Wong
Director of Operations Kim Baron
HR Manager Lizzie K. Foley
Drug Policy Reform Director Moira Nelson
Communications Manager Stacey Murphy
Somerset County Co-Chair Cookie Acot
Somerset County Co-Chair Kate Rizzo
Union County Co-Chair Pamela Brug
Warren County Co-Chair Kelly Shea
Warren County Co-Chair Iris Perrot
Warren County Co-Chair Cheryl Marciano
Warren County Co-Chair Pat Brady
Hunterdon County Co-Chair Joyce Santos
Morris County Co-Chair Jill Rhodes
Morris County Co-Chair Anita Esteve
Director of FB Moderation Team Amie Babischkin
Gloucester County Co-Chair Christine Elias
Cape May County Co-Chair Shannon McDevitt
Morris County Co-Chair Rachel Kempster Barry
Bergen County Co-Chair Jackie Low
Burlington County Co-Chair Susan Coleman
Director of Electoral Intelligence Dan Janowski
Graphic Design Director Dani Bratton
Director of Operations Kim Baron
Passaic County Co-Chair Stephanie Silvera
Passaic County Co-Chair Patti Douglass
Ocean County Co-Chair Christine Luland
Atlantic County Co-Chair Alison Arne
Hudson County Co-Chair Caitlin Sherman
Civil Rights Director Rachel Green
Michelle Liebtag, Council President, Frenchtown.


Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *