Home>Campaigns>Weinberg’s new PAC make first round of campaign contributions

Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg. Photo by Kevin Sanders for New Jersey Globe

Weinberg’s new PAC make first round of campaign contributions

Loretta PAC backing women mayoral candidates in Paramus, West Orange, Berkeley Heights

By David Wildstein, October 18 2022 1:20 pm

Stressing the importance of supporting “the next generation of troublemakers,” a political action committee founded by former Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg has contributed $9,000 to eighteen women running for local office in New Jersey, the opening round of he new group aimed at electing women running as Democrats and in non-partisan elections.

The Loretta PAC has sent $500 checks to Berkeley Heights Mayor Angie Devanney, who is seeking re-election to a second term, and to MariaElena Bellinger and Cindy Matute Brown, who want to become of the first women mayors of Paramus and West Orange, respectively.

“This is why we started the PAC in the first place, to support local candidates fighting for local communities for all the right reasons,” said Weinberg. “With the national assault on abortion rights, voting rights and environmental justice, we as concerned citizens cannot lose focus on the local level.”

The PAC is set up to back candidates who share Weinberg’s values: “equal rights, women’s rights, government transparency, justice, and shattering glass ceilings.”

Weinberg wants “council members, school board members, mayors and county commissioners who share our values and fight for our civil rights right here at home.”

Financial support also went to Petra Gaskin, who is in line to become the first Black woman to serve on the New Brunswick City Council.

“We are proud to be supporting such an historic, diverse and gifted group of New Jersey women, and we are only getting started,” stated Weinberg.

The Loretta PAC is also helping candidates in nine other races: Teska Frisby for Trenton City Council; Ashley Neuman and Jessica Nichols for Manville Borough Council; Susan Quatrone and Christie Del Rey-Cone for Rutherford council; Victoria Pacheco for mayor of Keyport; Maria Rodinaro for a Belmar council seat; Vanessa James for Pitman council; Karen Kominsky for a Lambertville City Council seat; and Denise Belcher, Danielle Gee, Hillary Goldberg & Chondra Young for four seat on the Teaneck Township Council.  Weinberg began her career as an elected official as a Teaneck councilwoman in 1990.

The PAC has also contributed to Cathleen Lewis, Lawrence councilwoman running for Mercer County Commissioner.

Spread the news: